You are here: Home | The Berlin Wall | Fatalities | 1970

HELMUT KLIEM

Helmut Kliem
Helmut Kliem returned home from his night shift on November 13, 1970 at around 6:45 in the morning. His wife, who also worked, had already left the house with their two children, whom she dropped off at daycare on her way to work. Helmut Kliem’s half-brother Bernhard had the day off and had announced that he would stop by for a visit that morning.

The brothers went to the “Volkshaus” restaurant in Staaken and had a few beers and schnapps with their lunch. They were looking forward to the upcoming weekend and planned to attend a Carnival party that evening. Both of them were relatively well-off: Three years earlier Bernhard P. had served a youth sentence in prison for “attempting to flee the republic,” but now he had a well-paid position with a highway construction company. Helmut Kliem, who was born on June 2, 1939 in Ebereschenhof, had worked since 1957 as an East German police officer and, after serving guard, patrol and light duty, had recently been appointed head constable for security of the locomotive and electric technical plant in Hennigsdorf.[1] He lived with his family in Staaken, which was situated directly on the border of the West Berlin district of Spandau.

The two men set off at around 3 p.m. It had been agreed the day before that Helmut Kliem would pick up his wife from her early shift and then the children from nursery school with his motorcycle. He brought his brother with him. There was enough room for everyone in his “Touren-AWO” sidecar.

Deep in conversation with his brother, he missed the exit onto the dirt road that led to his wife’s work place and to the daycare center. Instead he continued driving straight ahead and soon found himself in front of the gated entrance to the border grounds.[2] He had overlooked the signs marking the border territory and stopped about ten meters in front of the gate. He saw a border soldier behind the gate. Two guards stood on a watchtower behind him. He had clearly gone the wrong way. He turned the motorcycle around to drive back. Perhaps he did not take the border soldier seriously when he ordered the motorcycle driver to stop. Perhaps he did not hear the call or a possible warning shot over the noise of the motor. In any event, Helmut Kliem accelerated in order to leave the area quickly.

Apparently the guards on the tower did not see any reason to get involved but the guard at the gate raised his machine gun, aimed at the motorcycle tires and fired. Seven shots were set off. He later claimed that he was not aware of having set his Kalashnikov on automatic fire. In a standing position and without holding on to anything, he fired his gun at his target which was 30 meters away. Every guard was taught that a Kalashnikov tends to swerve upward and to the right of the target when set on automatic fire and this is what happened. Instead of hitting the motorcycle tires, the bullet went through Helmut Kliem’s shoulder blade, hitting the upper arm artery and blood vessel. His brother was also hit in his hand, and another bullet just barely missed him. Helmut Kliem braked, got off the motorcycle and took a few steps towards the guard before he collapsed to the ground. A resident who heard the shots and rushed to the site to help Helmut Kliem was held back by the border guards who held their machine pistols in front of them.[3] Later a guard maintained that Bernhard P. had screamed excitedly to him “Go on and shoot you Saxon bastard, go ahead and shoot me, too,” before he noticed his own pain and realized the severity of the bullet wound through his brother’s torn leather jacket.[4] The brothers were not given any medical care until an hour later when the ambulance arrived and took them to the Staaken Hospital.[5] By then it was too late for Helmut Kliem. He bled to death from his injuries at around 4:30 p.m.[6]

Even the official regulations of the border guards did not justify using a weapon in this situation. There had been no recognizable threat of a border breach. According to the East German criminal code, the death of Helmut Kliem qualified as murder.[7] But the military prosecutor did not investigate the case. Colonel Krug, commander of the border brigade, certified that that border guard had acted according to regulation and had engaged in “exemplary, class-appropriate conduct” that was to be “evaluated” by all troop units. The city commander also informed Erich Honecker of the incident.[8] The border guards involved were awarded medals and promoted the very same day. The man who pulled the trigger was awarded the “Medal for Exemplary Service at the Border.” The fact that he had fatally wounded his target was scrupulously concealed from him. He did not learn the truth until the 1990s. In 1997 the Potsdam district court tried him for manslaughter in coincidence with attempted manslaughter and sentenced him as a youth to a year and eight months in prison which was commuted to probation.[9]

Helmut Kliem’s wife waited in vain for her husband to arrive at 4 p.m. on November 13, 1970. Disappointed, she picked the children up and walked home. That evening two strangers showed up at her door identifying themselves as criminal police from Potsdam. They asked her questions about her husband but did not provide her with any information. She did not find out that Helmut Kliem was dead until November 14, 1970 when she appeared at the Potsdam district authority of the East German police. They did not tell her how he had died and she was denied her request to see her husband’s body. They told her that the body had already been cremated, although this was not true.[10]

At the same time her brother-in-law was being interrogated by the Stasi in Potsdam. On November 13, 1970 he was transported directly from the Staaken Hospital to the Stasi remand prison in Potsdam where preliminary proceedings for suspicion of “illegally leaving” East Germany were opened and an arrest warrant was issued. The Stasi interrogators tried unsuccessfully to force a confession out of him. The political division of the Potsdam state prosecutor’s office waited 14 days before dismissing the case. Another week passed before the arrest warrant was revoked and Bernhard P. was released from prison.[11] The death of his brother was then presented to him as a regrettable accident.[12]

Both Helmut Kliem’s wife and half-brother were sworn to secrecy about what had happened. In Staaken various rumors spread, but no one found out the truth. The supervisor of the “Border Work Group” of the East German police in Nauen apparently came closest to the truth: During questioning in the hospital he learned what had really happened. He was unable to reconcile the murder with his conscience and in an act of protest handed over his weapon and announced that he was quitting his service at the border.[13]

Almost three months passed before the urn with Helmut Kliem’s ashes was buried on February 4, 1971 in the cemetery in Falkensee.[14]

[Martin Ahrends/Udo Baron/Hans-Hermann Hertle]

----
[1] See “Telegramm der BVfS Potsdam/Abt. IX an das MfS/HA IX/8 Berlin, 16.11.1970,” in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 26–28.
[2] On the establishment of the facts concerning circumstances of events see: “Urteil des Landgerichts Potsdam vom 13.6.1997,” in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 3, Bl. 587–591.
[3] See “Protokoll der Zeugenvernehmung eines Anwohners durch die Berliner Polizei, 15.11.1993,” in: StA Neuruppin, Az. 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 1, Bl. 235–236.
[4] In his interrogation by the Stasi on 14.11.1970 in the Potsdam remand prison, Bernhard P. protested against the border soldiers claim that he had called him a “Saxon bastard.” See “Vernehmungsprotokoll der Abt. IX der BVfS Potsdam vom 14.11.1970,” in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 43.
[5] See “Zeugenbefragung des Halbbruders von Helmut Kliem durch die West-Berliner Polizei vom 4.8.1993,” in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd.1, Bl. 224–233.
[6] See “Telegramm der BVfS Potsdam/Abt. IX an das MfS/HA IX/8, 16.11.1970,” in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 26–28.
[7] See “Urteil des Landgerichts Potsdam vom 13.6.1997,” in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 3, Bl. 594.
[8] See “Schreiben des Kommandeurs der 2. Grenzbrigade, Oberst Krug, an NVA-Stadtkommandant Generalmajor Poppe vom 13.11.1970,” in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 60–65, here Bl. 65; “Schreiben von NVA-Stadtkommandant Generalmajor Poppe an SED-Politbüromitglied und NVR-Sekretär Erich Honecker, 13.11.1970,” in: BArch, VA-07/8374, Bl. 50–51.
[9] See “Urteil des Landgerichts Potsdam vom 13.6.1997,” in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 3, Bl. 584–596.
[10] See “Informationsbericht des MfS/KD Nauen zur Lage im Verantwortungsbereich zu dem Vorkommnis am 13.11.1970, 19.11.1970,” in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 76–78.
[11] The request for an arrest warrant, the prison ruling, a prison complaint from Bernhard P., the suspension of the investigation and repeal of the arrest warrant are presented in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 6, 11, 20–22.
[12] See “Zeugenbefragung des Halbbruders von Helmut Kliem durch die West-Berliner Polizei vom 4.8.1993,” in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd.1, Bl. 231.
[13] See “Informationsbericht des MfS/KD Nauen zur Lage im Verantwortungsbereich zu dem Vorkommnis am 13.11.1970, Nauen, 19.11.1970,” in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 76–78.
[14] See “Zeugenbefragung der Witwe von Helmut Kliem durch die West-Berliner Polizei vom 11.5.1993,” in: StA Neuruppin, Az. 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 1, Bl. 82–84.

HELMUT KLIEM

Helmut Kliem
Am Freitag, dem 13. November 1970, kommt Helmut Kliem gegen 6.45 Uhr von der Nachtschicht heim. Seine ebenfalls berufstätige Frau ist mit den beiden Kindern bereits außer Haus; auf dem Weg zu ihrer Arbeitsstelle bringt sie die Kleinen im Hort vorbei. Für den Vormittag hat Helmut Kliems Halbbruder Bernhard, der an diesem Tag arbeitsfrei hat, seinen Besuch angekündigt.

Die Brüder gehen in die Staakener Gaststätte „Volkshaus“, wo sie zum Mittagessen ein paar Biere und Schnäpse trinken und sich auf das bevorstehende Wochenende freuen: Schon am Abend soll eine Karnevals-Party steigen. Beiden geht es verhältnismäßig gut: Bernhard P. hat, nachdem er drei Jahre zuvor wegen „versuchter Republikflucht“ eine Jugendstrafe verbüßen musste, inzwischen einen gut bezahlten Job beim Autobahnbau. Helmut Kliem, der am 2. Juni 1939 in Ebereschenhof geboren ist, arbeitet seit 1957 als Volkspolizist und ist nach jahrelangem Posten-, Streifen- und Revierdienst seit kurzem als Hauptwachtmeister beim Betriebsschutz des Lokomotiv- und Elektrotechnischen Werks Hennigsdorf eingesetzt.[1] Zusammen mit seiner Familie lebt er in Staaken, das unmittelbar an den West-Berliner Bezirk Spandau grenzt.

Gegen 15.00 Uhr brechen die beiden Männer auf. Helmut Kliem will, wie am Vortag verabredet, seine Frau von der Frühschicht und die Kinder aus dem Kindergarten mit dem Motorrad abholen. Den Bruder nimmt er mit, auf seinem Touren-AWO-Gespann haben alle Platz.

Im Gespräch mit dem Bruder verpasst er dann allerdings die Abfahrt in jenen Waldweg, der zur Arbeitsstelle seiner Frau und zum Kinderhort führt, er fährt stattdessen weiter geradeaus und findet sich nach kurzer Strecke vor der vergitterten Zufahrt zu den Grenzanlagen.[2] Die Schilder, die das Grenzgebiet markieren, hat er übersehen. Etwa zehn Meter vor dem Tor kommt er zum Stehen. Hinter dem Tor sieht er einen Grenzsoldaten, dahinter steht ein Wachturm, der mit zwei Posten besetzt ist. Er hat sich offenbar verfahren, wendet das Motorrad, will zurück. Vielleicht nimmt er die Rufe des Grenzsoldaten nicht sonderlich ernst, der die Kradfahrer auffordert, stehen zu bleiben, vielleicht gehen sie auch im Motorengeräusch unter, ebenso wie möglicherweise ein Warnschuss. Denn ungeachtet dessen gibt Helmut Kliem Gas, um das Grenzgebiet umgehend zu verlassen.

Während die Posten auf dem Wachturm offenbar keinen Grund zum Einschreiten sehen, legt der Torwächter seine Maschinenpistole an, zielt auf die Motorradreifen und drückt ab. Sieben Schüsse lösen sich. Später wird er behaupten, dass ihm nicht bewusst war, seine Kalaschnikow auf Dauerfeuer eingestellt zu haben. Er schießt stehend freihändig auf ein sich bewegendes Ziel, als es etwa 30 Meter entfernt ist. Die Kalaschnikow hat, was jeder Schütze weiß, die Eigenart, bei Dauerfeuer nach oben rechts aus der anvisierten Zielrichtung „auszubrechen“. Der Grenzposten trifft nicht die Reifen des Motorrads, sondern durch das Schulterblatt die Oberarmschlagader und –blutader des einen und die Hand des anderen Bruders, den eine weitere Kugel nur um Haaresbreite verfehlt. Helmut Kliem bremst, steigt vom Motorrad, geht einige Schritte auf den Posten zu und bricht zusammen. Ein Anwohner, der die Schüsse gehört und herbeigeeilt ist, um Helmut Kliem zu helfen, wird mit vorgehaltener Maschinenpistole von den Grenzposten daran gehindert.[3] „Schieß’ doch, du Sachsenschwein, erschieß’ mich doch auch“, schreit Bernhard P. den Posten nach dessen Aussage erregt an, als er den eigenen Schmerz zu spüren und die tödliche Wirkung der Schussverletzung an der zerfetzten Lederjacke von Helmut Kliem zu erahnen beginnt.[4]

Erst eine Stunde später, nachdem ein Sanitätswagen die Brüder ins Krankenhaus Staaken gefahren hat, werden sie medizinisch versorgt.[5] Doch für Helmut Kliem kommt jede Hilfe zu spät. Gegen 16.30 Uhr erliegt er seinen Verletzungen.[6] Er ist verblutet.

Der Einsatz der Schusswaffe war selbst nach den Dienstvorschriften der Grenztruppen nicht gerechtfertigt; ein Grenzdurchbruch drohte erkennbar nicht. Die Tötung von Helmut Kliem erfüllt nach dem DDR-Strafgesetzbuch den Tatbestand des Mordes.[7] Eine Untersuchung durch die Militärstaatsanwaltschaft findet jedoch nicht statt. Der Kommandeur der zuständigen Grenzbrigade, Oberst Krug, bescheinigt den eingesetzten Grenzposten vielmehr ein vorschriftsmäßiges und „vorbildliches, klassenmäßiges Handeln“, das in allen Einheiten des Truppenteils „auszuwerten“ sei; entsprechend wird auch Erich Honecker vom Stadtkommandanten informiert.[8] Noch am selben Tag werden die beteiligten Grenzposten befördert und ausgezeichnet. Der Todesschütze erhält die „Medaille für vorbildlichen Grenzdienst“.[9] Doch erst in den 1990er Jahren erfährt er von der tödlichen Folge seines Treffers, die ihm damals peinlichst verschwiegen wurde. 1997 verurteilt ihn das Landgericht Potsdam wegen Totschlags in Tateinheit mit versuchtem Totschlag zu einer Jugendstrafe von einem Jahr und acht Monaten, die zur Bewährung ausgesetzt wird.[10]

Helmut Kliems Ehefrau wartet am 13. November 1970 um 16.00 Uhr vergebens auf ihren Mann. Enttäuscht holt sie die Kinder im Hort ab und geht zu Fuß nach Hause. Am Abend tauchen zwei Fremde bei ihr auf, die sich als Kriminalbeamte aus Potsdam ausgeben, erkundigen sich nach ihrem Mann, geben aber selbst keine Auskünfte. Erst am Vormittag des 14. November 1970 erfährt die Ehefrau in der Potsdamer Bezirksbehörde der Volkspolizei, dass Helmut Kliem tot ist. Die Todesursache wird ihr verschwiegen. Ihr Wunsch, ihren Mann noch einmal zu sehen, wird abgelehnt; der Leichnam sei schon eingeäschert, wird sie belogen.[11]

Zur gleichen Zeit wird ihr Schwager in Potsdam von der Stasi verhört. Aus dem Krankenhaus Staaken ist er am 13. November 1970 direkt in die Stasi-Untersuchungshaftanstalt in Potsdam abtransportiert worden, noch am gleichen Abend wird ein Ermittlungsverfahren wegen des Verdachts versuchten „illegalen Verlassens“ der DDR eingeleitet und Haftbefehl erlassen. Die Stasi-Vernehmer drängen auf ein Geständnis, das sie jedoch nicht bekommen. Die politische Abteilung der Potsdamer Staatsanwaltschaft braucht 14 Tage, um das Ermittlungsverfahren einzustellen; eine weitere Woche vergeht, bis der Haftbefehl aufgehoben und Bernhard P. freigelassen wird.[12] Nun wird der Tod seines Bruders ihm gegenüber als bedauerlicher Unglücksfall dargestellt.[13]

Sowohl Helmut Kliems Ehefrau als auch sein Halbbruder werden verpflichtet, über das Geschehene zu schweigen. In Staaken kursieren die verschiedensten Gerüchte, die Wahrheit jedoch findet kaum jemand heraus. Den Tatsachen am nächsten kommt offenbar der Leiter der „Arbeitsgruppe Grenze“ bei der Volkspolizei Nauen: Durch Befragungen im Krankenhaus Staaken erhält er Kenntnis über die Hintergründe des Vorfalls. Weil es sich um eine Mordtat handele, die er nicht mit seinem Gewissen vereinbaren könne, gibt er aus Protest seine Waffe ab und kündigt an, seinen Dienst an der Grenze zu quittieren.[14]

Es dauert fast drei Monate, bis die Urne mit der Asche von Helmut Kliem am 4. Februar 1971 auf dem Friedhof von Falkensee beigesetzt werden kann.[15]

[Text: Martin Ahrends/Udo Baron/Hans-Hermann Hertle]

-----
[1] Vgl. Telegramm der BVfS Potsdam/Abt. IX an das MfS/HA IX/8 Berlin, 16.11.1970, in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 26-28.
[2] Vgl. zum Geschehensablauf die Sachverhaltsfeststellungen im Urteil des Landgerichts Potsdam vom 13.6.1997, in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 3, Bl. 587-591.
[3] Vgl. Protokoll der Zeugenvernehmung eines Anwohners durch die Berliner Polizei, 15.11.1993, in: StA Neuruppin, Az. 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 1, Bl. 235-236.
[4] In seiner Vernehmung durch die Staatssicherheit am 14.11.1970 in der Potsdamer Stasi-Untersuchungshaftanstalt verwahrt sich Bernhard P. gegen die Behauptung des Grenzsoldaten, er habe ihn als „Sachsenschwein“ beschimpft. Vgl. das Vernehmungsprotokoll der Abt. IX der BVfS Potsdam vom 14.11.1970, in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 43.
[5] Vgl. Vernehmung des Halbbruders von Helmut Kliem durch die West-Berliner Polizei vom 4.8.1993, in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd.1, Bl. 224-233.
[6] Vgl. Telegramm der BVfS Potsdam/Abt. IX an das MfS/HA IX/8, 16.11.1970, in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 26-28.
[7] Vgl. Urteil des Landgerichts Potsdam vom 13.6.1997, in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 3, Bl. 594.
[8] Vgl. Schreiben des Kommandeurs der 2. Grenzbrigade, Oberst Krug, an NVA-Stadtkommandant Generalmajor Poppe vom 13.11.1970, in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 60-65, Zitat Bl. 65; Schreiben von NVA-Stadtkommandant Generalmajor Poppe an SED-Politbüromitglied und NVR-Sekretär Erich Honecker, 13.11.1970, in: BArch, VA-07/8374, Bl. 50-51.
[9] Ebd.
[10] Vgl. Urteil des Landgerichts Potsdam vom 13.6.1997, in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 3, Bl. 584-596.
[11] Vgl. Informationsbericht des MfS/KD Nauen zur Lage im Verantwortungsbereich zu dem Vorkommnis am 13.11.1970, 19.11.1970, in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 76-78.
[12] Der Antrag auf Haftbefehl, der Haftbeschluss, eine Haftbeschwerde von Bernhard P., die Einstellung des Ermittlungsverfahrens und die Aufhebung des Haftbefehls sind überliefert in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 6, 11, 20-22.
[13] Vgl. Vernehmung des Halbbruders von Helmut Kliem durch die West-Berliner Polizei vom 4.8.1993, in: StA Neuruppin, 61 Js 139/96, Bd.1, Bl. 231.
[14] Vgl. Informationsbericht des MfS/KD Nauen zur Lage im Verantwortungsbereich zu dem Vorkommnis am 13.11.1970, Nauen, 19.11.1970, in: BStU, Ast. Potsdam, AU 70/71, Bd. 1, Bl. 76-78.
[15] Vgl. Vernehmung der Witwe von Helmut Kliem durch die West-Berliner Polizei vom 11.5.1993, in: StA Neuruppin, Az. 61 Js 139/96, Bd. 1, Bl. 82-84.