AREA B: THE DESTRUCTION OF THE CITY

Area B tells the stories of people who made Bernauer Strasse famous: the residents who escaped from border houses by sliding down ropes from their apartments or by jumping into the rescue nets of the West Berlin fire department. The basement level of a border house was excavated for this subject station to document the events that link the buildings and their residents: life at the border before the Wall was built, the escapes, the forced evacuations in 1961, and the demolition of the buildings in the mid-sixties.

The outlines of the border houses are marked on the ground and identified with street numbers so that visitors can relate the individual stories to the missing buildings. The location of underground escape tunnels is also marked on the grounds.

One subject station focuses on the blocking off of Ackerstrasse. This is one of the first places where the Wall was erected in August 1961 and it is also where the systematic dismantling of the Wall began in June 1990. The second station addresses the history of the Reconciliation Church, which as of 1961 stood deserted within the border strip and in 1985 was blown up. The outline of the demolished church is also indicated. Parts of the church’s foundations have been preserved and are visible in an archaeological window.

The last subject station, next to the three-dimensional representation of a watch tower, discusses the different escape routes taken across and beneath the border fortifications by people attempting to flee to West Berlin.

Area B

The Memorial Grounds, Area B

The Memorial Grounds, Area B
Click to enlarge

BEREICH B: DIE ZERSTÖRUNG DER STADT

Im Bereich B werden die Geschichten der Menschen erzählt, durch die die Bernauer Straße bekannt geworden ist: die Fluchten der Bewohner aus den Grenzhäusern, die sich aus ihren Wohnungen abseilten oder aus dem Fenster in die Sprungtücher der West-Berliner Feuerwehr sprangen. Für diese Themenstation wurden die Keller eines Grenzhauses freigelegt, worin die mit den Häusern und ihren Bewohnern verknüpften Geschichten dokumentiert werden: das Leben an der Grenze vor dem Mauerbau, die Fluchten, die Zwangsaussiedlungen 1961 und der Abriss der Gebäude Mitte der sechziger Jahre.

Die Umrisse der Grenzhäuser sind im Boden nachgezeichnet und mit den Hausnummern versehen, damit Besucher die individuellen Geschichten den verschwundenen Gebäuden zuordnen können. Außerdem sind die unterirdischen Fluchttunnel im Gelände sichtbar markiert.

Eine Themenstation widmet sich der Sperrung der Ackerstraße. Dieser Ort ist eine der ersten Stellen, wo im August 1961 eine Mauer hochgezogen wurde, an der aber auch im Juni 1990 der systematische Rückbau der Mauer begann. Thema der zweiten Station ist die Geschichte der Versöhnungskirche, die seit 1961 verwaist im Grenzstreifen stand und 1985 gesprengt wurde. Der Grundriss der gesprengten Kirche ist ebenfalls nachgezeichnet, Teile des erhaltenen Kirchenfundaments sind in einem archäologischen Fenster sichtbar gemacht worden.

In der letzten Themenstation, direkt neben der dreidimensionalen Nachzeichnung eines Wachturms, werden die verschiedenen Wege dargestellt, auf denen Flüchtlinge seit dem Mauerbau versuchten, durch die und unter den Grenzanlagen nach West-Berlin zu gelangen.


Bereichsflyer B

Lageplan Bereich B

Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer, Bereich B
Bild vergrößern