You are here: Home | The Memorial | Ghost Stations

BORDER STATIONS AND GHOST STATIONS IN DIVIDED BERLIN

This exhibition, on display at the historical site of the Nordbahnhof S-Bahn station, recalls a special chapter in Berlin’s history of division: the closed-down and heavily guarded train stations of the U-Bahn and S-Bahn lines in East Berlin. The stations were only used by trains coming from the West. The exhibition describes underground escape attempts and the border fortifications built to prevent them.

The exhibition in the Nordbahnhof station shows the absurdity of the division on the basis of three U-Bahn and S-Bahn lines that crossed through East Berlin while traveling from one end of West Berlin to the other. Between 1961 and 1989 these lines had a special status within the city’s public transportation system that was otherwise divided. The trains of these lines (today’s subway lines U6 and U8 and the north-south rail of the S-Bahn) no longer stopped at the deserted train stations in East Berlin and could not be used from there. For West Berliner’s, the daily passage beneath East Berlin continued to be a strange experience. The closed-down stations came to be known as “ghost stations” in West Berlin. The trains slowed down before entering the stations, but they did not stop. Armed guards from East Germany stood in the dimly-lit stations and before the trains entered East Berlin a loudspeaker announcement was made: “Last station in West Berlin!” The exhibit uses the Berlin underground to address themes of the memorial – division of the city, migration to the West and living with the border fortifications. It also integrates the perspective of East Berliners who, no longer having access to the trains traveling to the West, tried to use the underground tunnels as a way to escape.

The exhibition “Border Stations and Ghost Stations in Divided Berlin” – the first completed section of the Berlin Wall Memorial expansion – displays unknown photographs, presents lesser known stories, and addresses forgotten fates.

back
Grenzsoldaten bewachen den S-Bahnhof Potsdamer Platz

Border soldiers guard the S-Bahn station at Potsdamer Platz, undated, photo of the MfS, BStU

GRENZ- UND GEISTERBAHNHÖFE IM GETEILTEN BERLIN

An ein besonderes Kapitel der Teilungsgeschichte Berlins erinnert diese Ausstellung, die an einem der historischen Orte, im S-Bahnhof Nordbahnhof eingerichtet wurde: die stillgelegten und bewachten Bahnhöfe der U- und S-Bahn-Linien in Ost-Berlin, die nur vom Westen aus zu benutzen waren, sowie die unterirdischen Fluchtversuche und die zu ihrer Verhinderung unter der Erde errichteten Grenzanlagen.

Die Ausstellung im Nordbahnhof zeigt die Absurdität der Teilung am Beispiel der drei U- und S-Bahnen-Linien im West-West-Verkehr, die Ost-Berlin unterquerten und in der Zeit zwischen 1961 und 1989 eine Sonderstellung im ansonsten geteilten Verkehrsnetz der Stadt innehatten. Die Züge dieser Linien (heute U-Bahn-Linien 6 und 8, Nord-Süd-Bahn der S-Bahn) hielten nicht mehr auf den verwaisten Bahnhöfen in Ost-Berlin und konnten von dort aus nicht benutzt werden. Für West-Berliner Fahrgäste blieb die Durchfahrt unter Ost-Berlin bei aller Gewöhnung eigenartig. Deshalb wurden die stillgelegten Bahnhöfe in West-Berlin "Geisterbahnhöfe" genannt: Die Züge fuhren langsam und ohne Halt hindurch, in schummrigem Licht standen auf den Bahnhöfen bewaffnete Wachposten und vor der Durchfahrt wurde in der U-Bahn per Lautsprecher gewarnt: "Letzter Bahnhof in Berlin West!" Die Ausstellung nimmt die Themen der Gedenkstätte – Teilung der Stadt, Fluchtbewegung und das Leben mit den Grenzsperranlagen – am Beispiel des Untergrunds von Berlin auf und integriert auch die Perspektiven der Ost-Berliner, die einerseits keinen Zugang mehr zu den in den Westen fahrenden Zügen hatten und andererseits die unterirdischen Fahrtunnel als Fluchtmöglichkeit zu nutzen versuchten.

Die Ausstellung "Grenz- und Geisterbahnhöfe im geteilten Berlin", die als erstes Element der Erweiterung der Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer fertig gestellt wurde, zeigt teilweise unbekanntes Bildmaterial, präsentiert wenig bekannte Geschichten und bringt bereits vergessene individuelle Schicksale wieder an die Öffentlichkeit.

zurück

LITERATUR

Cover: Grenz- und Geisterbahnhöfe im geteilten Berlin

Gerhard Sälter/Tina Schaller (Hg): Grenz- und Geister- bahnhöfe im geteilten Berlin
Begleitband zur Ausstellung im Nordbahnhof. Berlin 2013, Ch. Links Verlag