GÜNTER MALCHOW

Daily Madness with the Wall

The Lazaraus Hospital was the center of Günter Malchow’s life: That was where he lived and where he saw the Wall every day.

Born in Berlin in December 1934, he began working as an orderly in the Lazarus Hospital in Berlin-Wedding in 1955. The hospital was situated in the French sector, right at the sector border on Bernauer Strasse.

Günter Malchow married in 1958 and over the following years the couple had four boys.

The life of the family was influenced by the activity in the hospital, but also by the construction of the Wall and its consequences. The dramatic events at the border on Bernauer Strasse took place very close to the hospital. The Malchow’s apartment looked directly onto the border fortifications that had been erected across the street on the grounds of the Sophien parish cemetery.

Through his work in the hospital Günter Malchow experienced regularly how the Berlin Wall affected people. As head orderly, he was responsible for caring for the injured fugitives from the East who were brought to the hospital almost every day.

He was there when Rudolf Urban and his wife were brought in on August 19, 1961 after they used a clothes line to slide down from their first floor apartment on Bernauer Strasse 1. Rudolph Urban died three weeks later from his injuries.


When Ernst Mundt was shot trying to flee across the Sophien parish cemetery on September 4, 1962, Günter Malchow was one of the first people to arrive at the site of the accident. But no one could help the fugitive because he had fallen off the cemetery wall onto the border grounds.

For a time in 1963 the Malchow family took in a 12 year old boy who had managed to jump from the roof of a bricked up border building and fall into the rescue net of the West Berlin fire department. The boy was not turned over to the East German authorities until it was certain that he would be returned to his parents and not sent to a youth work camp.

Günter Malchow worked at the Berlin Wall Memorial as a volunteer for many years. He passed away in 2009.

Maria Nooke

back
Günter Malchow

Günter Malchow, photo: private

ORIGINAL RECORDING

Daily life on Bernauer Strasse after the Wall was built

Excerpt from an oral history interview from April 7, 1999, Berlin Wall Memorial (in German)

GÜNTER MALCHOW

Der tägliche Wahnsinn mit der Mauer

Der Lebensmittelpunkt von Günter Malchow war das Lazaruskrankenhaus: Hier lebte er, hier arbeitete er und hier hatte er täglich die Mauer vor Augen.

Im Dezember 1934 in Berlin geboren, arbeitet er ab 1955 als Krankenpfleger im Lazaruskrankenhaus in Berlin-Wedding. Das Krankenhaus befand sich direkt an der Sektorengrenze in der Bernauer Straße und lag im französischen Sektor.

Im Jahr 1958 heiratete Günter Malchow, in den folgenden Jahren wurden dem Paar vier Söhne geboren.

Das Familienleben wurde nicht nur durch den Krankenhausbetrieb geprägt, sondern auch durch den Mauerbau und seine Folgen. Die dramatischen Ereignisse an der Grenze in der Bernauer Straße spielten sich in unmittelbarer Nähe des Krankenhauses ab. Von der Wohnung der Malchows blickte man direkt auf die Sperranlagen, die über den Friedhof der Sophiengemeinde auf der gegenüberliegenden Straßenseite gezogen wurden.

Auch durch seine Arbeit im Lazaruskrankenhaus wurde Günter Malchow täglich mit den Auswirkungen des Mauerbaus für die betroffenen Menschen konfrontiert. Als Oberpfleger hatte er für die Versorgung der verletzten Flüchtlinge zu sorgen, die nahezu täglich in das Krankenhaus gebracht wurden.

So erlebte er die Einlieferung von Rudolf Urban und seiner Frau, die sich am 19. August 1961 aus dem Fenster ihrer im ersten Stock gelegenen Wohnung in der Bernauer Straße 1 an einer Wäscheleine abgeseilt hatten. Rudolph Urban starb drei Wochen später an den Folgen seiner Verletzungen.


Als am 4. September 1962 Ernst Mundt bei seinem Fluchtversuch über den Sophienfriedhof erschossen wurde, war Günter Malchow unter den ersten an der Unfallstelle. Dem Flüchtling konnte aber nicht geholfen werden, da er von der Friedhofsmauer auf das Gelände des Friedhofs zurück gestürzt war.

1963 nahm Familie Malchow für einige Zeit einen zwölfjährigen Jungen auf, dem ein Sprung vom Dach eines zugemauerten Grenzhauses in ein Sprungtuch der West-Berliner Feuerwehr gelang. Der Junge wurde den Ostberliner Behörden erst übergeben, nachdem geklärt war, dass er zu seinen Eltern zurückkehren durfte und nicht in einen Jugendwerkhof eingeliefert wurde.

Günter Malchow arbeitete mehrere Jahre ehrenamtlich in der Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer. Er ist 2009 verstorben.

Maria Nooke

zurück
Günter Malchow

Günter Malchow, Foto: privat

O-TON

Alltag in der Bernauer Straße nach dem Mauerbau

Aus einem Zeitzeugeninterview vom 7. April 1999, Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer