RAINER EPPELMANN

Minister and Regime Critic

When he was 18, Rainer Eppelmann worked as a roofer assistant to earn money for his mother and two younger siblings. His father, a carpenter, lived and worked in West Berlin. He had a West Berlin passport, too. When the Wall was erected on August 13, 1961, the family was separated. After that the oldest became responsible for the family. Before the Wall was built, he and his siblings had attended high school on the west side of the city. They had been taught in an “east class,” a special class set up for students who had been denied the opportunity to achieve the university entrance diploma in East Berlin. The class enabled them to take their final examinations. But the 13th of August put an end to this. By September 1961 they had to be registered in the East where they were disparaged as “border profiteers.” They were initially also denied the right to receive vocational training which is why Rainer Eppelmann first got a job as a roofer before he was allowed to begin training as a mason a year later. The hope that he might acquire a West Berlin passport through his father was soon shattered. And anyway, the family depended on him. After his two-year training was over, he worked as a mason in a PGH (Artisan Production Collective). Several people that he knew from the amateur church theater group of the Protestant Church in East Berlin also worked there.

Rainer Eppelmann was conscripted into the army but he refused to “bear arms.” A resolution had been passed by the National Defense Council of East Germany in September 7, 1964 that called for the training of construction working units within the military. The initiative to have people trained as construction soldiers had been instigated primarily by the Church and it remained the only way to get around having to use a weapon. Rainer Eppelmann recalls that the oath of allegiance still obligated these soldiers to honor unconditional obedience. He was unable to reconcile his Christian beliefs with this pledge of absolute obedience to a person or state. He and one other person from their group refused to take the oath and were sentenced to eight months in prison. During his time in the military prison in Ückermünde, the 22 year old became even more convinced that East Germany was a place where decisions were made for him – telling him both what to do as well as whether or not he could leave.

After his release from prison, he had to go through ten months of training as a construction soldier. As a consequence of having refused to bear arms, he was denied the opportunity to study at a national university, technical school or college in East Germany. The only positive experiences he had in “walled-in East Germany” were inseparably linked to his time with the Youth Congregation and the Protestant Church. Hence was a logical decision for him to attend the Paulinium Preacher School. This was one of two theological colleges in East Germany that offered a theological degree related to the pastor profession. The degree had been established out of need -- there were not enough ministers in East Germany -- but it did not lead to an academic career. During his five-year studies, Rainer Eppelmann married and had two children. Afterwards he became a minister and later worked for the regional youth office of the Samaritan Parish in Friedrichshain.

As minister he often heard parish members speak of the difficulties and injustices they experienced in East Germany. “With each of these fates, the rejection and contempt I felt towards the regime grew stronger,” he recalls today. His experiences led him to believe that something had to be done against the people who were responsible for putting people in these difficult or even dishonorable situations in which they were encouraged to act against their own will. Rainer Eppelmann began to conduct a special kind of prayer service that evolved into the Blues Mass. In 1979, 250 people participated in services which included music, bible text readings and short political sketches. In 1983 the number of participants had risen to 7,000. People from all over East Germany crowded into the Samaritan Church. The government felt the church mass was “sabotage against official youth policies.” The services were banned in the fall of 1986: Peace groups were formed instead and the Blues Mass was replaced by other central events.

Rainer Eppelmann is one of the most well-known members of church peace and human rights groups. In early October 1989, he co-founded the opposition party “Demokratischer Aufbruch.” In 1990 he was appointed Minister without Portfolio in the administration under Hans Modrow. Following the first free election on March 18, 1990, he was appointed Minister for Disarmament by Premier Lothar de Maizière. He was a representative in the German Bundestag until 2005.

Anna von Arnim

back
Rainer Eppelmann 2007

Rainer Eppelmann, 2007, photo: Seyerlein

Rainer Eppelmann 1986

In front of the Samaritan Church in Berlin, November 9, 1986, photo: Klaus Mehner, Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung

ORIGINAL RECORDING

Important meeting in the parish

Blues Mass in the church

November 9, 1989 at the Bornholmer Strasse border crossing

From an interview on February 9, 2001, Berlin Wall Memorial (in German)

RAINER EPPELMANN

Pfarrer und Regimekritiker

Der 18-jährige Rainer Eppelmann arbeitete als Dachdeckergehilfe, um für seine Mutter und seine beiden kleinen Geschwister Geld zu verdienen. Sein Vater war als Zimmermann in West-Berlin tätig, hatte dort gleichzeitig einen Wohnsitz und einen West-Berliner Pass. Als am 13. August 1961 die Mauer gebaut wurde, trennte sie auch die Familie voneinander. Von nun an war der älteste Sohn verantwortlich für die Familie. Vor dem Mauerbau hatten er und seine Geschwister ein Gymnasium im Westteil der Stadt besucht. Sie hatten Unterricht in einer so genannten Ostklasse, die es Schülern, denen das Abitur in Ost-Berlin verwehrt wurde, ermöglichte, die Reifeprüfung abzulegen. Der 13. August brach ihre Schulzeit ab, bereits im September 1961 mussten sie sich erfassen lassen und wurden als „Grenzgewinnler“ diffamiert. Auch eine Berufsausbildung wurde ihnen zunächst nicht ermöglicht, so dass Rainer Eppelmann auf dem Dach arbeitete, bevor er ein Jahr später eine Lehre zum Maurer anfangen konnte. Die Hoffnung über den Vater einen West-Berliner Pass zu erhalten und den Ostteil verlassen zu können, zerschlug sich schnell – und da war die Familie, die auf ihn angewiesen war. Nach seiner zwei-jährigen Lehre arbeitete er als Maurer in einer PGH (Produktionsgenossenschaft des Handwerks). Viele Bekannte aus dem kirchlichen Laienspielkreis der evangelischen Kirche in Ost-Berlin waren dort ebenfalls tätig.

Rainer Eppelmann wurde zum Armeedienst eingezogen und verweigerte den „Dienst an der Waffe“. Seit dem 7. September 1964 gab es einen Beschluss des Nationalen Verteidigungsrates des DDR, der die Grundlage zur Bildung von Baueinheiten der NVA legte. Die Ausbildung zum Bausoldat war vor allem auf Initiative der Kirchen entstanden und war die einzige Möglichkeit, den Dienst an der Waffe zu verweigern. Rainer Eppelmann erinnert sich, dass mit dem Fahneneid trotz allem der unbedingte Gehorsam gelobt werden sollte. Einem Menschen oder Staat gegenüber absoluten Gehorsam zu versprechen, passte für ihn nicht mit seinem christlichen Glauben zusammen. Sie waren zwei aus ihrer Gruppe, die den Eid nicht ablegten und wurden daraufhin zu acht Monaten Haft verurteilt. Im Militärgefängnis in Ückermünde festigte sich das Bild des 22-Jährigen von der DDR als ein Ort, in dem andere über ihn entschieden – darüber, was er tat genauso wie darüber, ob er raus konnte oder nicht.

Nach seiner Entlassung hatte er noch zehn Monate der Bausoldaten-Ausbildung abzulegen. Ein Studium an einer staatlichen Universität, Fachschule oder Hochschule in der DDR blieb ihm nach seiner Ablehnung des Dienstes an der Waffe verwehrt. Die einzigen guten Erfahrungen in der „zugemauerten DDR“ waren für ihn untrennbar mit der Jungen Gemeinde und der evangelischen Kirche verbunden. So war es für ihn nur konsequent, die Predigerschule Paulinum zu besuchen. Sie war eine von zwei theologischen Fachschulen in der DDR, an denen ein Theologiestudium bezogen auf das Gemeindepfarramt abgelegt werden konnte. Dieses Studium war aus der Not entstanden, nicht genug Pfarrer in der DDR zu haben, ermächtigte aber nicht zu einer wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn. In den fünf Jahren seines Studiums heiratete Rainer Eppelmann und bekam zwei Kinder. Danach wurde er Pfarrer und später auch Kreisjugendpfarrer in der Samaritergemeinde in Friedrichshain.

Als Pfarrer erzählten ihm die Gemeindeglieder von den Schwierigkeiten und Ungerechtigkeiten ihres Lebens in der DDR. „Mit jedem dieser Schicksale ist die Abneigung, die Verachtung diesem Regime gegenüber immer stärker geworden“, erinnert er sich heute. Seine Erfahrungen brachten ihn zu der Überzeugung etwas gegen diejenigen tun zu wollen, die Menschen in eine schwierige oder gar entehrende Situation brachten, die andere also dazu bewegten, etwas gegen ihren eigentlichen Willen zu tun. Rainer Eppelmann begann mit einer besonderen Form von Gottesdiensten, aus denen sich die Blues-Messen entwickelten. 1979 fanden sich 250 Teilnehmer zu der Musik, dem Lesen von Bibeltexten und den kleinen politischen Sketchen ein; 1983 waren es 7.000 Menschen aus der ganzen DDR, die sich in die Samariterkirche drängten. Die Regierung sah in den Messen eine „Sabotage der offiziellen Jugendpolitik“, im Herbst 1986 wurden sie verboten. Es bildeten sich Friedensgruppen und andere zentrale Veranstaltungen lösten die Blues-Messen ab.

Von Rainer Eppelmann initiierter "Berliner Appell - Frieden schaffen ohne Waffen", der im Westen veröffentlicht wurde und zu seiner Verhaftung führte, 25. Januar 1982 [JPG, 1,2 MB]

Rainer Eppelmann gehörte zu den bekanntesten Mitgliedern kirchlicher Friedens- und Menschenrechtsgruppen und war Anfang Oktober 1989 Mitbegründer der Oppositionspartei „Demokratischer Aufbruch“. 1990 wurde er Minister ohne Geschäftsbereich in der von Hans Modrow geführten Regierung und nach der ersten freien Wahl vom 18. März 1990 Minister für Abrüstung in der Regierung von Ministerpräsident Lothar de Maizière. Bis 2005 war er Abgeordneter des Deutschen Bundestages.

Anna von Arnim

zurück
Rainer Eppelmann

Rainer Eppelmann, 2007, Foto: Seyerlein

Rainer Eppelmann

Vor der Samariterkirche in Berlin, 9. November 1986, Foto: Klaus Mehner, Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung

O-TON

Wichtige Begegnungen in der Gemeinde

Blues-Messen in der Kirche

Der 9. November 1989 am Grenzübergang Bornholmer Straße

Aus einem Zeitzeugeninterview, 9. Februar 2001, Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer

LITERATUREMPFEHLUNG

Robert-Havemann-Gesellscahft (Hg.): Gesichter der Friedlichen Revolution, Berlin 2011

Eppelmann, Rainer: Fremd im eigenen Haus. Mein Leben im anderen Deutschland, Köln 1993

Ders.: Gottes doppelte Spur. Vom Staatsfeind zum Parlamentarier, Witten 2007