REGINE HILDEBRANDT

Living Between Two Worlds

Regine Hildebrandt was famous as the “Mother Courage of the East.” In 1989 the biologist became active in the citizen’s movement “Democracy Now“ and a short time later joined the newly founded Social Democratic Party (SPD) of East Germany. In April 1990, as a representative of the first freely elected People’s Chamber of East Germany, she was appointed Minister of Labor and Social Affairs in Lothar De Maiziere’s administration. In October 1990, after reunification, she successfully ran for a seat in the state parliament in the newly established State of Brandenburg and was appointed Minister for Work, Social Services, Health and Women. She served in this office, which earned her great popularity, until the end of the second legislative period in 1999. She died in 2001.

Regine Hildebrandt grew up on Bernauer Strasse in the heart of Berlin. The street was divided after World War II when the Allied occupying powers partitioned Berlin. The buildings on the southeast side of the street belonged to the Soviet sector, and thus to East Berlin. But the sidewalk, road and buildings on the other side were situated in the French sector, in West Berlin. The border ran right along the fronts of the buildings that were on the East Berlin side of the street. The family of the pianist Radischewski lived in one of these border houses, on the ground floor of Bernauer Strasse 2. Like so many residents of the divided city, the Radischewskis wandered easily between East and West. ID checks took place at the sector border, but it was not blocked off. Moreover, every step outside the entranceways led automatically to the West. This special situation affected the daily lives of the residents. It was commonplace to visit the Vox-Cinema on the other side of the street, to read the West Berlin “Tagesspiegel” or to shop on the busy Brunnenstrase. Until the 6th grade, Regine Radischewski attended the elementary school around the corner on Strelitzer Strasse in the West. But when the East German authorities threatened her parents with professional consequences, Regine had to switch to the school in the East, and she quickly learned the difference between the two school systems. Her new school routine was dominated by flag ceremonies and Pioneer activities. The FDJ, the youth organization of the Communist Party, also played a dominant role. She was now expected to learn unfamiliar words like “central committee.” Instead of studying French she had to learn to speak Russian. Although she never joined the pioneer organization nor did she become a member of the FDJ, she was able to complete her high-school diploma (Abitur) at the Max-Planck-Gymnasium and begin university studies. She was an active member of the young congregation of the Reconciliation Church that was located just two lots away from the Radischewski family’s building. Her best friends were the minister’s sons who were her age. She later married one of them.

Regine Hildebrandt learned about the Wall going up on August 13, 1961 when she was on holiday in Dresden. To get an idea of the situation, she hitchhiked back to Berlin. Since she lived on the street, she was able to get through the blockade on Bernauer Strasse and even attended the baptism ceremony of her godson on the west side of the city the next day. At that time it was still possible to access Bernauer Strasse from the border houses. Then she returned to Dresden to continue her vacation. When she returned home at the end of August, she was greeted by a walled-off city. The family no longer lived in their ground floor apartment. They had been forced to move to the first floor of the building at Bernauer Strasse no. 10. The front doors of the border houses had been blocked off and the ground floor apartments were evacuated. The buildings could only be exited through the back courtyards and were heavily guarded. But this situation did not last long either: A number of residents climbed out their windows and slid down ropes to the west side or they jumped into the rescue nets that the West Berlin fire department held ready. To put a stop to these escapes, the East German company militias evacuated all the border houses in September 1961. More than 2,000 residents lost their apartments and were forced to leave the familiar surroundings in which they lived.

Regine Hildebrandt remained connected to Bernauer Strasse her entire life. Each year she and her husband and their three children approached the border area at Bernauer Strasse to keep themselves aware of the monstrous division. When the Reconciliation Church was blown up in January 1985, she managed to secretly photograph the collapse of the tower from her building on Rheinsberger Strasse.


Given her personal history, it is no surprise that night of November 9, 1989 was an overwhelming and joyful experience for her.

Maria Nooke

back
Dr. Regine Hildebrandt

Dr. Regine Hildebrandt

ORIGINAL RECORDING

Border situation at Bernauer Strasse

Daily life before the Wall was built

Experiences on November 9, 1989

Excerpts from an oral history interview from April 22, 1999, Berlin Wall Memorial (in German)

REGINE HILDEBRANDT

Leben zwischen zwei Welten

Regine Hildebrandt wurde als "Mutter Courage des Ostens" berühmt. Die promovierte Biologin engagierte sich 1989 in der Bürgerbewegung „Demokratie jetzt“ und trat wenig später in die neu gegründete Sozialdemokratische Partei der DDR, die SDP ein. Als Abgeordnete der ersten frei gewählten Volkskammer der DDR wurde sie im April 1990 Ministerin für Arbeit und Soziales im Kabinett von Lothar De Maiziere. Nach der Wiedervereinigung kandidierte sie im Oktober 1990 erfolgreich für den Landtag im neu gebildeten Land Brandenburg und wurde zur Ministerin für Arbeit, Soziales, Gesundheit und Frauen berufen. Dieses Amt, dessen Ausübung ihr überaus große Popularität einbrachte, hatte sie bis 1999 zum Ende der zweiten Legislaturperiode inne. Sie verstarb im Jahr 2001.

Kindheit und Jugend verbrachte Regine Hildebrandt in der Bernauer Straße im Herzen Berlins. Die Straße wurde nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges im Zuge der Aufteilung Berlins durch die Alliierten Besatzungsmächte zu einer geteilten Straße. Die Häuser auf der südöstlichen Straßenseite gehörten zum sowjetischen Sektor und damit zu Ost-Berlin – Gehweg, Straße und Häuserzeile auf der gegenüberliegenden Straßenseite lagen dagegen im französischen Sektor, in West-Berlin. Die Grenze verlief hier direkt entlang der Häuserfassade der zu Ost-Berlin gehörenden Gebäude. In einem dieser Grenzhäuser, im Erdgeschoss der Bernauer Straße 2, wohnte die Familie des Pianisten Radischewski. Wie viele Bewohner der geteilten Straße waren auch die Radischewskis Wanderer zwischen Ost und West. Denn die Sektorengrenze wurde zwar kontrolliert, war aber nicht abgesperrt. Außerdem führte jeder Schritt aus der Haustür automatisch in den Westen. So beeinflusste diese besondere Situation den Alltag der Anwohner. Besuche im Vox-Kino auf der anderen Straßenseite gehörten genauso zu den alltäglichen Gewohnheiten wie die Lektüre des West-Berliner Tagesspiegel oder der Einkauf auf der belebten Brunnenstraße. Regine Radischewski besuchte bis zur 6. Klasse die um die Ecke im Westen gelegene Grundschule an der Strelitzer Straße. Als den Eltern von den DDR-Behörden berufliche Konsequenzen angedroht wurden, musste Regine auf eine Ost-Schule wechseln – und lernte die Unterschiede zwischen den beiden Schulsystemen direkt kennen. Der Schulalltag war nun durch Fahnenappelle und Aktivitäten der Pioniere geprägt, eine wichtige Rolle spielte die FDJ, die Jugendorganisation der Einheitspartei SED. Fremde Begriffe wie „Zentralkomitee“ sollte sie kennen und nicht mehr Französisch lernen, sondern Russisch sprechen. Obwohl sie weder in die Pionierorganisation eintrat noch später Mitglied der FDJ wurde, konnte sie ihr Abitur am Max-Planck-Gymnasium ablegen und ein Studium aufnehmen. Sie war engagiertes Mitglied der Jungen Gemeinde in der Versöhnungsgemeinde, deren Zentrum zwei Grundstücke neben dem Wohnhaus der Radischewskis lag. Ihre besten Freunde waren die gleichaltrigen Söhne des Pfarrers, einen von ihnen heiratete sie später.

Vom Mauerbau am 13. August 1961 erfuhr Regine Hildebrandt während eines Ferienaufenthalts in Dresden. Um sich ein Bild von der Situation zu machen, trampte sie nach Berlin zurück. Als Anwohnerin kam sie trotz Absperrungen in die Bernauer Straße und feierte am nächsten Tag sogar die Taufe ihres Patenkindes im Westteil der Stadt mit. Denn aus den Grenzhäusern war der Zugang zur Bernauer Straße immer noch möglich. Dann setzte sie ihren Urlaub in Dresden fort. Ende August nach Hause zurückgekehrt, empfing sie eine abgeschottete Straße: Die Familie wohnte nicht mehr in der bekannten Parterrewohnung, sondern hatte in den ersten Stock der Bernauer Straße Nr. 10 umziehen müssen. Denn die Haustüren der Grenzhäuser waren inzwischen verschlossen, die Wohnungen im Erdgeschoss geräumt worden, die Zugänge nur noch über die Hinterhöfe erreichbar und die Häuser streng bewacht. Doch lange dauerte auch dieser Zustand nicht: Zahlreiche Bewohner seilten sich durch ihre Fenster in den Westen ab oder sprangen in die bereitgehaltenen Sprungtücher der West-Berliner Feuerwehr. Um diese Fluchtmöglichkeit zu unterbinden, erfolgte im September 1961 eine Zwangsräumung der Grenzhäuser durch Betriebskampfgruppen der DDR. Mehr as 2.000 Menschen verloren so ihre Wohnung und wurden aus ihrem althergebrachten Lebensumfeld verdrängt.

Regine Hildebrandt blieb Zeit ihres Lebens mit der Bernauer Straße verbunden. Alljährlich ging sie mit ihrem Mann und den drei Kindern in die Nähe des Grenzgebiets an der Bernauer Straße, um sich die Ungeheuerlichkeit der Teilung bewusst zu machen. Als im Januar 1985 die Versöhnungskirche gesprengt wurde, gelang es ihr, aus einem Wohnhaus in der Rheinsberger Straße den Fall des Kirchturmes heimlich zu fotografieren.


Dass die Nacht des 9. November 1989 für sie zu einem überwältigenden Erlebnis wurde, ist vor dem Hintergrund ihrer persönlichen Geschichte kein Wunder, sondern eine beglückende Erfahrung.

Maria Nooke

zurück
Dr. Regine Hildebrandt

Dr. Regine Hildebrandt

O-TON

Grenzsituation in der Bernauer Straße

Alltag vor dem Mauerbau

Erlebnisse am 9. November 1989

Aus einem Zeitzeugeninterview vom 22. April 1999, Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer

LITERATUREMPFEHLUNG

Hildebrandt, Jörg (Hg.): Regine Hildebrandt. Erinnern tut gut: Ein Familienalbum, Berlin 2008